Skip to main content
Client Notes

How to finalize, retract, or delete a note

Last updated

The note finalization feature in Blink Session follows attestation (signing/authenticating the record) standards. Finalizing a note represents the clinician’s legal verification that the documented services were rendered, accurate, and complete. This is required by most medical insurers and other payers, but it can also be useful in other contexts.

Finalizing: When you click finalize, both the note and the linked appointment (if one is linked) will be locked. Linked appointments are considered part of the legal record.

Retracting: Finalized notes can be retracted. When retracted, an entry will be recorded in the note's revision history.

Deleting: Notes that were never finalized can always be deleted. Open the note and click the "Delete" button at the bottom. In order to comply with attestation standards, notes that were previously finalized can only be deleted by Blink Session support. If you need to delete a previously finalized note, contact Blink Session support with the date, time, and reason for deletion.

Did that not cover it?

Search the rest of the help center, or send the question to support and a human who uses the platform daily will answer it.